Meetings Canada


People for November 06, 2008

MTCC Board Chairman Walter Oster Wins Lifetime Achievement Award

By Don Douloff, November 06, 2008

MTCC Board Chairman Walter Oster Wins Lifetime Achievement Award

Metro Toronto Convention Centre (MTCC) board chairman Walter Oster has won a lifetime achievement award from the Ontario government.

Ontario’s Minister of Tourism, the Honourable Monique Smith, presented Oster with the award during the annual Ontario Tourism Summit, held Oct. 7 at MTCC. The award, from the Ontario Tourism Marketing Partnership, recognizes Oster’s distinguished service to Ontario’s tourism sector and also to the community at large. In presenting the award, the Minister described Oster as an exemplary leader in the tourism industry and the community and an inspiration to the industry, his friends and family.

Ontario’s Minister of Tourism, the Honourable Monique Smith, presents MTCC board chairman Walter Oster with a lifetime achievement award.

Anse Chastanet & Jade Mountain Appoint Canlink

St Lucia properties Anse Chastanet and Jade Mountain have appointed Canlink Travel Representatives as their Canadian rep.

Located among a 600-acre tropical estate with two soft-sand beaches bordering coral reefs, Anse Chastanet blends with its natural surroundings. Jade Mountain is located above Anse Chastanet and features organic architecture celebrating St. Lucia’s island beauty.

Canlink provides sales and marketing strategies involving the meetings and incentive, travel agency and tour-operator sectors.

CanSPEP Announces New Board

The Canadian Society of Professional Event Planners (CanSPEP) has announced its 2008/2009 board of directors.

Newly named as president is Gary Johnson, of PlannerPlus Events; past president is Heidi Wilker, CMP, of Blessed Events; secretary-treasurer is Rose Timmerman-Gitzi, of RTG Special Events; vice-president, chapter relations, is Cindy Hick, of HPB Association Management Services; vice-president of communication: Stephanie Johnson, of Critical Path Events Inc.

Vice-president, education and programmes: Denise Jones, Jones & Jones Productions Ltd.; vice-president, marketing: Maxine Campitelli, of Leading Edge Events Inc.; vice-president, membership and benefits: Roblynn Hunnisett, of Touchstone Event Management; and vice-president, partnerships, is Jessie Eden, of Jessie Eden Productions.

Board responsibilities include the development of CanSPEP education programmes, partnership and networking opportunities, membership benefits and professional development.

Print this page

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *